Hari Om

Sri Krishna – Uddhava Conversation in the Bhagavata Purana:



“O Krishna, thou speakest of Bhakti Yoga. Others speak of other expedients. Are they all same or is any one of them superior to others?”

Sri-Krishna replied: —

“The tendencies of men are different, according to the differences in their nature. So different paths have been spoken of. But the regions (or fruits) acquired by the votaries of the other paths, and as created by their actions have a beginning and an end, a miserable future and an end in Tamas. The pleasures there are small and they are not unmixed with sorrow. Where is that bliss to be found in objects that is to be found in Me.

“Fixed in Me, and finding bliss in Me, all is blissful to My votaries. They do not wish for universal supremacy, they do not ask for supremacy over Svarga, Bhûr or Pâtâla, they do not long for Siddhis, they do not even ask for Mukti. Surrendering Self to Me they wish for nothing else but Myself. Brahmâ, Śiva, Sankarshana, Lakshmî and My own form are not so dear to Me, O Uddhava, as thou art to Me. I always seek my Bhaktas. It is they only that know what bliss they enjoy, Bhakti consumes all impurities, even as fire consumes the fuel. Yoga, Sânkhya, Dharma, study of the scriptures, asceticism, or relinquishment nothing wins me so much as powerful Bhakti does. I am attained only by faithful Devotion. Bhakti purifies the Bhaktas, even though they be Chandâlas by birth.

“Dharma, though combined with truth and compassion, wisdom though wedded to asceticism, do not completely purify self, if devotion to Me is wanting. How can mind be purified without Bhakti. For by Bhakti the hairs stand on end, the heart melts away and tears of bliss run down the cheek. Words become choked with devotional feelings. The Bhakta weeps, and smiles, and sings and dances forgetting himself. Such a Bhakta (not only purifies self, but) he purifies the whole world.

“Gold loses its impurities under fire and regains its own form. Âtmâ (Jiva Âtmâ) shakes off its impurities under Bhakti Yoga and regains its own form. As Âtmâ becomes more and more purified, by hearing and meditating on the sacred sayings about Me, it sees more and more of subtle objects, as the eye touched with collyrium does.

“Think of objects and your mind will be attached to objects. Think of Me and your mind will be attached to Me. Therefore fix your mind on Me, giving up all other thoughts.

“Shun from a distance the company of women and of those that keep the company of women. Be self controlled. Go to a solitary place, free from dangers and then sleeplessly meditate on Me.

There is not so much misery, so much bondage from other quarters as from the company of women and of those that associate with them.”



Uddhava asked: —

“O Lotus-eyed! how to meditate on Thee! Tell me what is the nature of that meditation and what it is?”

Sri Krishna replied: —

“Be seated on an Asana (Seat), that is neither high nor low (say, a blanket), with your body erect and in an easy posture. Place your hands on the lap. Fix your gaze on the tip of the nose (in order to fix the mind). Purify the tracks of Prâna by Puraka, Kumbhaka and Rechaka, and then again in the reverse way (i.e. first breathe in by the left nostril with the right nostril closed by the tip of the thumb, then close the left nostril by the tips of the ring finger and the little finger and retain the breath in both the nostrils. Then remove the tip of the thumb, and breathe out through the right nostril. Reverse the process by breathing in through the right nostril then retaining the breath in both the nostrils and then letting out the breath through the left nostril). Practise this Prânâyama gradually with your senses controlled.

“‘Aum’ with the sound of a bell, extends all over, from Mûlâdhâra upwards. Raise the ‘Aum’ in the heart, by means of Prâna (twelve fingers upwards) as if it were the thread of a lotus-stalk. There let Bindu (the fifteenth vowel sound) be added to it. Thus practise Prânâyama accompanied by the Pranava reciting the latter ten times. Continue the practice, three times a day and within a month you shall be able to control the vital air. The lotus of the heart, has its stalk upwards and the flower downwards, facing below (and it is also closed, like the inflorescence with bracts of the banana. Śridhara). Meditate on it however as facing upwards and full-blown, with eight petals and with the pericarp. On the pericarp, think of the Sun, the Moon, and Fire one after another. Meditate on My form (as given in the text) within the Fire. First Meditate on all the limbs. Then let the mind withdraw the senses from their objects. Then draw the concentrated mind completely towards Me, by means of Buddhi. Then give up all other limbs and concentrate your mind on one thing only My smiling face. Do not meditate on anything else. Then with draw the concentrated mind from that and fix it on Akâsa. Give up that also and being fixed in Me, (as Brahmâ) think of nothing at all. You shall see Me in Âtmâ, as identical with all Âtmâs, even as light is identical with another light. The delusions about object, knowledge and action shall then completely disappear.”



When the senses and the breath are controlled and the mind is fixed on Me, Siddhis or powers overtake the Yogi. There are eighteen Siddhis and eighteen Dhârânas. Of these, eight belong to me (eight of them are normally the powers of Íshvara and they exist in a some what lesser degree in those that approach the state of Íshvara. Śridhara. The remaining ten cause the appearance of Guna i.e. they cause an excellence of Satva. Śridhara.)

1. Animâ, the power of becoming as small as an atom.

2. Mahimâ, the power of increasing size.

3. Laghimâ, the power of becoming light. These three Siddhis relate to the body.

4. Prâpti, to be in the relation of presiding Devas to the corresponding senses of all beings.

5. Prâkâmya, power of enjoying and perceiving all objects seen or unseen.

6. Îsitâ, control over the energies of Mâyâ in Ísvara, over the lower energies in other beings.

7. Vasitâ, Non-attachment to objects.

8. Kâmâvasâyitâ, the power of attaining all desires.

These are My eight Siddhis and they normally exist in Me.

1. The cessation of hunger and thirst.

2. The hearing from a distance.

3. Seeing from a distance.

4. Motion of the body with the velocity of the mind.

5. Assumption of any form at will.

6. The entering into another’s body.

7. Death at one’s own will.

8. Play with Deva girls.

9. The attainment of desired for objects.

10. Irresistible command.

These are the ten Siddhis that relate to the Gunas. There are also five smaller Siddhis.

1. Knowledge of the present, past and future.

2. Control over the Pairs, such as heat and cold &c.

3. Knowledge of other’s minds.

4. Suspending the actions of fire, sun, water, poison &c.

5. Invincibility.

These are only illustrative of the Siddhis.

Now about Dhârâna or the modes of concentration of the mind.

Those that fix their mind on Me as pervading the Tanmatras acquire the power of becoming an atom.

Those that concentrate their mind on Me as pervading Mahat Tatva acquire Mahima.

The object of Dhârâna … … The power acquired

The Lord pervading the atoms … Laghima.

Do. Do. Sâtvic Ahankâra … Prâpti.

Do. Do. Sûtra or Mahat … Prakamya.

Vishnu the Lord of the three Gunas … Îsita.

Nârâyana, the Fourth, Bhagavat … Vasita.

Nirguna Brahmâ (Brahmâ without

attribute) … … … Kâmavasayita.

Lord of Sveta Dvipa (White Island) … Cessation of hunger

and thirst.

Akâsa … … … Distant hearing.

Sun … … … Distant vision.

GF’ Blessings.