The Ten Commandments of Hinduism – Yama and Niyama, by Sage Patanjali

Hari Om

Yama – The five things to be avoided:

1. Himsa varjanam: Avoidance of all forms of violence (physical, mental and verbal)

2. Asathya varjanam:

Avoidance of lying

3. Steya Varjanam:

Avoidance of stealing (direct or indirect)

4. Mythuna varjanam:

Avoidance of inappropriate / illegitimate sexual relationships (both mental and physical —Practicing chastity or celibacy as applicable).

5. Parigraha varjanam:

Avoidance of possessing more than we need

Niyama :The five things to be followed:

6. Soujam:

Purity or Cleanliness (both physical and mental)

7. Santosha:

Positive contentment

8. Tapaha:

Any act of self denial practised for mastery of sensual instruments (austerity)

9. Svathyaya:

Scriptural study

10. Iswara pranidhanam:

Surrender to the Lord

To the one who practices these Ten Commandments meticulously, the process of attainment of purity, maturity and detachment to realise God (moksha) becomes easy and automatic. This also means that without practising these Ten Commandments in day today life and living, any type of religious or spiritual exercise may not yield appropriate or wholesome results for the seeker.

GF’ Blessings.